Posted by: danilefrancois | May 16, 2011

First Time Exploring Mountain Stars

In the wee hours of the morning on May 10th I set out to Lake Louise to check out the star scene. It had been snowing or cloudy during 99% of the evenings since I arrived and it happened perfectly that the night sky was mainly clear and I had no work the next day.

This was mainly a fact finding mission, trying to find the best location and direction to shoot. While experimenting I noticed the moon wasn’t  distracting me with its bright blinding light anymore. I looked over and saw the moon was setting and giving Mt. Whyte a great halo!

Twinkle - Moon set and stars over Mt. Whyte and the Victoria Glacier

Standing looking up at the stars was surreal. I had never seen soo many stars before. No haze, no light pollution, no anything to hinder the perfection of the night. This so much different then Ontario where you have to drive several hours away due north from home to get away from the spreading light pollution.

My last shot of the night before I headed inside with paranoia of bears coming out to investigate my presence.  A 5 minute exposure capturing star trails and faint remnants of the milky way.

lake louise stars

We Dance - small star trails in Lake Louise

Many more star exploring to do!

-dani

Leave a Reply

Categories

